Growth: Uncertain belief still counts as knowledge…


Do things really become new every morning?
June 28, 2007, 7:46 pm
Filed under: Culture, Discipleship, Songwriting

I’ve been mulling over some of the psalms for some inspiration for this song I’m trying to finish and a thought popped into my head…  is it me or does the Psalmists really like to say stuff about newness, joy of the lord, etc comes with “the morning”?  I’m still a little vexed about that…

I actually find from my own personal experience that when I sleep, I forget a lot of what I was striving to do the next day?  I find old habits popping up again and I also find a lot of things don’t come across “new”.

i.e.

Psalm 101:8 – “Every morning I will put to silence all the wicked in the land;  I will cut off every evildoer from the city of the Lord.”

This Psalm written by David seems like a vow that he will silence the wicked of the land literally every morning, but of course it is more likely more of a figurative thing…  but I can’t help wondering why this was always the case?  Maybe because in this culture (or at least mine) I don’t wake up to a sunrise or something like that, I wake up to an alarm clock, wake up to an schedule, wake up because I have to…

not because I want to…

I was reminded recently in my brother’s blog, from his class about Conversion with Gordon T. Smith, that you can’t really claim to follow Christ (Christian) if you’re not wanting to be a disciple of Jesus.  I’ve been struggling with being disciplined in the word and sanctifying/consecrating myself daily, especially in the morning…  I wonder how strong is the corrolation between my spiritual vitality and morning devotions really is?

Thoughts?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think it goes the other way as well… doing as jesus does, somehow softens our hearts and enlightens us to what the Scriptures declare…

Comment by Lon

Hey Shu!
this is kind of an irrelevent comment,
I’m Perry alex’s/joeie’s/kat’s/etc. friend / the YCCF chair for this coming year, was wondering if you might know the password and access details for the YCCF accessing the website admin side please contact me asap**

thanks (:
Perry

Comment by pear-i

Shu!
Is there some amazing news that you I need to congratulate you about?!?

HAHAHA 😛

Comment by sixsteps

I am a Christian apologist based in India. I came to your site through a general search and enjoyed the contents.

Seems you have not been posting lately !!

Dr. Johnson C. Philip
India

Comment by Dr. Johnson C. Philip




Leave a Reply

